Holiday Series #2

This year has afforded me a lot of growth in many ways, one of which being my intention to maintain a responsible consumer life, buying what I need and can use forever, ideally, and less impulse buys of low quality food, drink, and goods.

A resounding need to support organizations I appreciate and love for the meaningful work they are doing for people and places across the Earth really affected me in the latter part of the year, especially in the last two months. I have enjoyed giving the small amounts I can afford to many incredible charities and nonprofits.

This year for my family’s Christmas gifts from me, I decided to pick a charitable organization for each of them and make a donation in their name and honor. I’m happy to share the organizations I chose here. Each of them are doing excellent work across the world to combat abuse of the environment and of the quality of life of people who have been pushed aside, harmed by volatile conflict, or have their way of life threatened by other external sources.

Room to Read “seeks to transform the lives of millions of children in developing countries by focusing on literacy and gender equality in education.”

Indigenous Literacy Foundation was founded and set up by members of the Australian Book Society and works to raise awareness and provide programs about Indigenous literacy issues and provide books to children in remote communities around Australia.

Doctors Without Borders: “Medical aid where it is needed most. Independent. Neutral. Impartial.” Because so many people around the world are suffering from senseless conflict that destroys families, communities, and cultures.

Surfrider protecting our salty playground, because, oceans.

Leave a Reply

