Ahoy Mates!

Welcome aboard Burgess Adventures! I’m very happy to use this blog to keep you up to speed with all things E/V Nautilus related – the reason for the season – as well as my current venture in directing and developing environmental education and STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) for the Boy Scouts of America at Philmont Scout Ranch in New Mexico.

In January 2015 I was selected as a Science Communication Fellow to go aboard the Exploration Vessel Nautilus this season. Since 2009, the E/V Nautilus has been “going where none have gone before” exploring the ocean. Just ask its founding father: Dr. Robert Ballard (Titanic discoverer, ring a bell?). Philmont Scout Ranch is my host organization in this venture and I am ecstatic to bridge my love of ocean science with the mountains I have called home for over a decade.

Later this year in July/August I will join the expedition and Corps of Exploration myself as we move up the California Coast margin. This personal blog will supplement the goings-on of the expedition and let me share topics of science, exploration and conservation with you all!

Until my next post, please scope out the E/V Nautilus on YouTube, Instagram, Twitter and Facebook. And mark your calendars for April 9th to tune in at www.NautilusLive.org for live streaming of exploration 24/7 through September.

One thought on “Ahoy Mates!

  1. Pingback: Burgess Adventures

Leave a Reply

